Advertising Rates
Contact us
Celebration Forms
Submit Event
Submit News
Site Search

Advanced Search
Search Sponsored

home : news : news Sunday, November 19, 2017

8/9/2017 Email this articlePrint this article 
Cal-Wheat board seats contested
DeWitt, Northeast have no contests for Sept. 12

By Tom Pantera

With one possible exception, it could be a quiet school board election day for districts in The Observer area.

That one exception is the Calamus-Wheatland School District, where there actually will be two contested races.

Filing for the Sept. 12 school board elections in Iowa closed Aug. 3.

Calamus-Wheatland Superintendent Lonnie Luepker said Carena Weigh has filed for the District 1 seat being vacated by Scott Knudtson.

District 1 covers the city of Wheatland.

Knudtson, however, doesn't plan to retire from the board; he will run as a candidate for an at-large seat.

Also running as at-large candidates are incumbent Matt Boeckmann, Blaine Henning and Hobart Stutt. That means four candidates are seeking two seats on the ballot.

In District 2, Tyler Davisson has filed for the seat now held by Kevin Garland, who is not seeking re-election.

District 2 covers the southeast quarter of the district and extends west into Spring Rock Township of Clinton County and Liberty Township of Scott County.

Shelley Weiss also is not running for re-election to her at-large seat.

Terms on the seven-member board are four years long, and board members are not paid for serving.

Not up for election this year are Larry Banowetz, Jay Ganzer and Jamie Knoche. Their terms will expire in 2019.

Luepker said he wasn't aware of any particular issues that spurred the contested races, "not that they've come with and said anything about."

Uncontested elsewhere

In DeWitt, where two of the five board seats will be on the ballot, incumbent Angela Rheingans has filed for re-election to a second term and Jeff Blandin has filed for the seat being vacated by Steve Fuglsang.

Superintendent Dan Peterson said Rheingans appeared to be running to continue "the path of improvement we're on," but he had not spoken to Blandin about why he filed to run.

The DeWitt seats also are unpaid, four-year terms. All are elected at large.

The three seats not up for election this year are held by Cory Huff, Christy Kunz and Hannah Perrone.

In the Northeast School District, Business Manager Tina Marx said incumbents Mary Smith and Andy Frederickson had filed for re-election on the five-member board, and so far they have no challengers.

"It's been really quiet" as far as any issues facing the district, Marx said.

Those also are unpaid, four-year terms.

Not up for election this year are seats occupied by Richard Krogmann, Shawn Rathje and Jeni Grantz.

All seats are elected at large.

Write-in candidates may still campaign for the seats.

This will be the last year school board elections will be held separately from municipal elections. The Iowa Legislature this year passed a law, effective in 2019, that will have school board members share the ballot with city candidates in November.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Passcode: This form will not send your comment unless you copy exactly the passcode seen below into the text field. This is an anti-spam device to help reduce the automated email spam coming through this form.

Please copy the passcode exactly
- it is case sensitive.

Like us on facebook

Hill Chiropractic


The Observer • Founded in 1864
“Pledged but to truth, liberty, and law;
no favors win us and no fears shall awe.”

512 Seventh St., PO Box 49, DeWitt, IA 52742 • 563-659-3121
Copyright 2017, DeWitt Observer Publishing Co.
 Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved